laurenlikestocook

Meatless Macrobiotic Monday

In Beans, Japanese, Rice, Vegetables on November 8, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Is it totally “jump-on-the-bandwagon”ish to succumb to the Meatless Monday Movement?  I try to make every night meatless, and last night was ACTUALLY an exception.  Nick really wanted some chicken for dinner, so I improvised and made some just for him.  Otherwise, the meal was PETA approved!

My favorite Vegan book/cookbook is Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet.  It is full of information about veganism, tons of pretty pictures, and really delicious recipes.  She and her husband are also pictured in the book, and they are both really pretty to look at.  The book maps out 3 phases for transition into an ideal vegan macrobiotic diet.  I’ve been through 1 and 2, but never fully through 3.  However, I have tried some of the more macrobiotic recipes from that phase.  One of them is Azuki Beans with Kabocha Squash.  Before I read this book, I had no idea what either of those foods were.  Azuki beans are little red beans that are sometimes used to make desserts (READ: Red bean ice cream).  Kabocha squash is a type of winter squash, sometimes called Japanese pumpkin.  It is sweeter than butternut squash, but similar color/shape to acorn squash.  Nonetheless, you can also make this dish with any kind of winter squash.  I decided to use my sweet dumpling squash from my CSA share.

I’ve read mixed advice about the soaking/cooking process for azuki beans.  I decided out of laziness to not soak them, but just made sure to add enough water while cooking.  I also tore up some kombu, a sea vegetable that helps to reduce flatulence.  Once it was up to a boil, I tried to skim some of the foam and then reduced the heat to let simmer.

While the beans cooked away, I prepped the squash by cutting in half to remove the seeds.  Then I chopped up into bite size pieces.  I left the skin on.  It looks so pretty.

I also toasted some sesame seeds and prepped some brown rice.  Brown rice, and whole grains in general, are a big part of a macrobiotic diet, as well as eating seasonable vegetables, and limited processed foods, sugars, and spices.  It is really hard to not uses spices, but the brown rice I can deal with.

I put the squash into the bean pot, added some more water, and let it cook another 20ish minutes.  During that time, I chopped up the broccoli and trimmed the mizuna (see, told you I’d use it) for the stir fry.

I reluctantly prepped Nick’s chicken.  I used the pan from the seeds, so as not to contaminate my wok.  I browned the chicken in toasted sesame oil, and was done with it.

I

started to saute the garlic in some sesame oil, then added the broccoli.  After a few minutes, I added some chili pepper paste, and then deglazed with Umebashi vinegar and some shoyu (high quality soy sauce).  Then at the end, I tossed in the mizuna, and tada.

Here’s my pristine macrobiotic-ish dish.  Everything is so yummy and comforting.  I used 3 of the veggies: squash, broccoli, and mizuna – all in one night 🙂

I also took a picture of Nick’s plate.  He loved it.

Now, a little lesson on leftovers.  I used some of these beans and added some barley from Friday, since the barley was so flavorful.  I also sprinkled some collards in.  Last week I kept using that mole sauce to season the veggies.  This is basically what my lunch looks like most days.  I’m happy with it.

If after 3 or 4 days stuff is still left, I’ll use the freezer.  Beans and soups freeze especially well.

Until the next time, siyonara!

  1. […] and cumin.  I really wanted to use millet for this recipe, but I still had leftover rice from Monday’s meal.  Guess the millet would be saved for a later […]

  2. […] kabocha version of this soup is actually a very traditional Macrobiotic dish, because it relies on seasonal foods that are very subtle and uses hardly any seasoning. I prefer […]

Leave a Reply

