laurenlikestocook

Good ol’ Home (not so much) Cooking

In Beans, CSA, Mexican, Quick Meal, Rice, Salad on November 16, 2011 at 1:21 pm

This weekend we went to our cousin’s wedding in Connecticut.  It really was a 3-day affair.  Party the day before, wedding the day of, hangover the day after.  Needless to say, I was not thinking about cooking anything until at least Tuesday.  Saturday was really busy.  Anytime I go away for more than 1 night, there is so much to be done, especially when attending a special event.  Gotta get my hair and nails did, pack for myself and my dog, drop off the dog to some “volunteering” relative, and make the traffic-infused drive to the location.

While pampering myself, I reluctantly sent Nick to the CSA pickup location.  I am always forced to go to the CSA’s site to actually figure out what we got (and if we are missing anything) whenever he picks up.  Sometimes they don’t match up, but that is what happens when they harvest right before the delivery.  Unfortunately, no pictures were taken of the whiteboard or boxes, so I had to kind of figure out what was what.  This week included:

  • Potatoes
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Carnival squash
  • Garlic
  • Parley
  • Kohlrabi
  • Mixed salad/braising greens (I think they were supposed to be separate, but it all was mixed together)

The only difficult item to use is the kohlrabi, because it requires a lot of preparation (in my experience), so that should be interesting.  Everything else is pretty standard.  Although I am not a huge fan of white potatoes, my hubby LOVES them.  I really love sweet potatoes, and I have the perfect dish to use them for this week 🙂

Yesterday, I made a trip to Fairway after work.  I knew I wanted to stock up on some pantry items, but also knew that I did not want to step into the store any time after this Thursday until after Thanksgiving.  You can’t even park in the back-up parking lot.  This trip, however, was like heaven.  It was the emptiest I’ve ever seen it.  could actually be the deer in the headlight if I so desired.  I got some fresh and dried fruits, beans and oats from the bulk section, broth and almond milk, and some Amy’s burritos.  I try to avoid eating frozen and pre-made food items, but it’s better to eat that in a crunch than whatever you can find at the corner deli.  It’s also great to have it for Nick instead of some less-desirable items.

By the time I was done with the store and got home, the last thing I wanted to do was cook.  Everything seems overwhelming when there are tons of packages to unpack.  Also, we had run out of Cascade, so we were behind on dishes.  Luckily, I remembered to pick up a rotisserie chicken for Nick, and I had all the ingredients for nachos.  I took out some beans and rice from the freezer from last week’s Mexican meal.

While defrosting in the microwave, I shredded some lowfat/reduced sodium organic cheddar.

I also washed some of the mixed greens from this week’s share for a side salad.  Like I mentioned earlier, I was so busy trying to get out of town that I didn’t even have time to prep the veggies.  Everything was shoved last minute into the fridge.  Instead of spending the time to actually clean everything last night, I just focused on this quick meal.  Ironically, yesterday was national clean out your fridge day. Doh!

I mashed an avocado with lemon juice and red onion for a simple guacamole.  Normally I’ll add tomato, cilantro, and jalapeno, but I didn’t have those items.  Then I sent up the assembly line.

I added beans, salsa, and cheese to mine.  The I topped the side salad with salsa and guac.

Nick topped his with everything.  He did not have salad.  What a shock.


And there you have it.  A quick dinner using some convenience foods like salsa and chips, as well as leftover rice and beans from prior meals.  Adding the guac and salad gives it a nice fresh spin.  The rest of the week will be more creative and involve greater culinary skills.

What are some of your quick meal ideas?

  1. […] the stew stewed away, I prepared a veggie side dish.  I had 2 kohlrabi bulbs from this weeks share that I thought I ought to […]

  2. […] I had carnival squash, sweet potato, onion, garlic, carrots, and turnips.  The parsley from the prior week’s share would add a nice fresh garnish at the […]

  3. […] when I made my pureed winter squash soup, but had instead used the carnival squash I had from that week’s CSA share.  Kabocha is by far my favorite of the bunch.  It is so sweet, almost like a sweet potato.  We […]

  4. […] 2 minutes to make, and I can eat it while I make lunch.  You can use canned beans, or leftover frozen beans (another time-saving trick – make a big patch of beans or soup and freeze into individual […]

  5. […] my culinary convictions for the greater part of the week’s remainder.  You did notice that I made nachos for dinner one night, right?  I’ve also significantly reduced my actual cooking and shopping in the past 2 […]

Leave a Reply

