laurenlikestocook

Soup for One

In Japanese, Soup, Sweet Potato, Vegetables on November 22, 2011 at 6:33 pm

I know that title sounds really sad.  It’s actually awesome though, because I could have a whole pot of soup all to myself 🙂

The magic of soup is that it can contain anything!  As long as you’ve got running water, you’ve got soup.  If you’re fortunate enough to have some luxurious ingredients like stock or milk, it will taste even better.  I always stock up on broth (especially when on sale), just for nights like this one.  Nick went to the Giants game, and I had a busy weekend of gallivanting and doing chores, so I wanted something simple.  I decided on a winter squash soup.  Normally I’ll add tons of root veggies, like parsnips and rutabagas, as well as a whole bunch of aromatics and of course winter squash!  However, I am only using the veggies I got from this week’s CSA share.  I had carnival squash, sweet potato, onion, garlic, carrots, and turnips.  The parsley from the prior week’s share would add a nice fresh garnish at the end.

The kabocha version of this soup is actually a very traditional Macrobiotic dish, because it relies on seasonal foods that are very subtle and uses hardly any seasoning. I prefer to make this with either butternut or kabocha, simply because they are easier to peel.  That way you can just dice up and add straight to the pot.  This squash, however, has tons of ridges.  The only solution was to cut up into strips, bake, and peel skin off when finished.  This is the before.

Once it was done, I let it cool and then peeled off the skin.

While the squash baked, I peeled all the peelable veggies.

Then I chopped those and the rest of the veggies up.

I added them to the pot with some veggie broth, salt, pepper, and thyme, and brought to a boil.

After I peeled the squash, I added it to the pot.

I let it incorporate a few minutes more, and then turned the heat off for immersion blending!  I love this gadget.  It saves so much time.

You can puree the soup to be as smooth or chunky as you like.  I prefer it 98% smooth, just so I can see a couple pieces of the other veggies.  Look how bright and cheerful the pot looks!

I topped my soup with some chopped parsley.  Nick had it the next day with bacon.  You could go for a Thai feel and use coconut milk and curry, or a Mexican theme with chili powder or hot sauce.  On days when I’m hungrier, I may pair it with a grilled cheese or vegan BLT.

I’ve already had the leftovers today and yesterday.  Yesterday I added in some black beans and collard greens, which made it a really hearty complete meal.  Today I switched the black beans for chickpeas, which helped to keep the color integrity intact.

How do you makeover your leftovers?

  1. […] (I wonder why?), so we decided to get some Kabocha squash.  I mentioned this squash when I made my pureed winter squash soup, but had instead used the carnival squash I had from that week’s CSA share.  Kabocha is by […]

  2. […] love soup.  I’ve talked about it here, here, and here.  That’s probably why back in the day I’d used more than 10 Hale & […]

  3. […] not really fun for anyone else joining me.  I made a pureed butternut squash soup, similar to this one, except using water instead of broth.  I also added more sweet potato and carrots, which helped […]

Leave a Reply

