laurenlikestocook

If You Try to Knock Me You’ll Get Mocked…

In Chinese, Rice, Vegetables on December 14, 2011 at 5:11 pm

That’s the line that comes before my hubby’s obligatory singing when I make a stir fry.  I’ll say to him “I’m making chicken stir fry,” and without hesitation he says “I’ll stir fry you in my wok.”  A lot of his jokes and lyrical expressions get old, but that one always makes me laugh 🙂

One of my go-to stir fries is actually fried rice.  I know anything that has fried in it sounds bad.  But really, very little oil is used (maybe 1 tbsp between 4 servings), and the heat of the wok gives the food all the crispiness it needs.  One of my favorite recipes comes from Elie Krieger, and it’s a vegetarian brown rice version that has peppers, carrots, corn, edemame, and tofu.  Since I can’t eat the last two, this recipe has been out of my repertoire as of late.  What I love about it, though, is that there are so many veggies used, and not so much rice.  Back in my chicken eating days, I would make this with some pre-cooked chicken.  For today’s version, I did that, but I only ate the veggies and egg.  Let me show you how it’s done.

I chopped up the chicken into 1/2 inch pieces first, using a separate cutting board.  I sauteed the chicken in some toasted sesame oil (maybe 1 tsp), salt, and pepper.  Then reserved the cooked chicken for the end.

While that cooked, I chopped up all the veggies.  I finely chopped red pepper, carrot, onion, scallion, and green beans.  I cut the broccoli in to small florets.  Then I smashed some garlic.  Don’t the colors make this display look awesome?

To make room for mushrooms, I started to stir fry these initial veggies in the wok with 1/2 tbsp EVOO and 1/2 tbsp toasted sesame oil.  Then I chopped up some baby bellas.

Once everything was browned to my liking (about 5 minutes), I created a well in the center for 2 egg whites.

I scrambled the eggs with some tongs, and then mixed everything together.  Then I sprinkled with some soy sauce, and removed half (my portion).

Now comes the rice/chicken part.  Normally, you would save the egg towards the end (after adding rice and chicken), but since I wasn’t eating either of those I scrambled the eggs first.  Then I added a cup of brown rice leftover from the night before and the chicken.

I mixed it all up, added some  more soy sauce, and tada!

Here’s a picture of mine.  Doesn’t really look all that much different!

I have to admit, although my version was delicious, I was left feeling hungry an hour later.  I know that normally Chinese food does that, but I was REALLY hungry, probably from running earlier that day.  I ended up having a string cheese (not ideal) but it helped me get through the night.

This was the third meal this week following my new challenge plan.  It’s getting harder to come up with ideas, but that’s the point of a challenge I suppose!  The rest of the week I did not cook, but I did make a huge meal on Sunday (which I will report later), so I did manage to cook 4 meals in a 7 day period 🙂

  1. […] Chicken and veggie “fried” brown rice.  I was pretty exhausted and didn’t eat any official “dinner”.  This is also […]

Leave a Reply

