laurenlikestocook

Just Roll with It

In Beans, Mexican, Rice, Vegetables on December 14, 2011 at 1:11 pm

If somebody asked me what my favorite cuisine was, it would be a tie between Italian and Mexican.  This night’s meal (which I actually made last Tuesday – so much for punctual blogging) belongs in the latter category.  Although Mexican is commonly associated with cheesy-fried-carbs and fatty meats, one actually has multiple healthy options when enjoying comida Mexicana.  Case-in-point: the fajita (can be pronounced fa-heat-a, or as we like to say fa-gight-a).  Fajitas are usually made in a cast iron skillet, and include onions, peppers, and chicken/beef/pork (or extra veggies for vegetarians), all seasoned with traditional Mexican spices.  Very little oil or fat is generally used, and the tortillas (usually corn) are served on the side.  Sometimes a restaurant will offer fajita burritos, enveloping all the fajita goodness with a large flour tortilla that has the diameter of a newborn child’s length.  Submitted for your approval, I present a dinner that offers fajitas for both the carb lover and carb curbers.

First step, I cooked some brown rice in a rice cooker using this method.  I examined the veggie drawer in the fridge.  I had the minimum pepper and onion available.  I also had a carrot, some spinach, and a handful of purple kale.  Ideally I would also like to add some broccoli, zucchini, cauliflower, and chickpeas, but since there were none, I did not include them.  I sliced up the onions, peppers, and carrot into thin strips.  Then I smashed some garlic.

I sauteed them first in a tbsp of EVOO, since the leafy greens take less time to cook.  After about 5 minutes, I added some cumin, chili powder, coriander,  cayanne, salt, and pepper.

After cooking another minute, I added some veggie broth to deglaze the plan.

Then it was time to add the greens.  I combined everything, lowered the heat, and let simmer while I prepared everything else.

I took some frozen pinto beans and nuked them for a minute.

Then it was time to make some guacamole!  I scored half an avocado.

Then I used to a spoon to scoop into a bowl, mixed in some lemon juice, red onion, tomato, and salt.

Just as I finished with the quac, I grated some cheese and checked on the veggies.  They were done!  Mmmmmmm.

Now it was time to assemble Nick’s burrito.  I used a whole-grain one (healthier than traditional white flour), warming in the microwave for 15 seconds.  Then in long rows I added some cheese, pinto beans, fajita veggies, brown rice covered with salsa, and some guac).

Then came time to roll it up.  I’m sure that most of you have had messy burrito/wrap-rolling experiences in the past.  These are some of my tricks.  First, you can see above that I centered the fillings into a square space.  I know it is tempting to overflow with ingredients, but trust me – it’s not worth it!  If you really want extra, just reserve the excess filling for a side dish.

The next step is to fold over the top and bottom, perpendicular to the direction of the filling.  If you start the other way, you will have a different item in each bite as you progressively make your way through eating.  Doing it the way I suggest will allow you to ingest as many of the fillings in one bite as possible.

Next I folded the left side over to begin rolling from West to East.

Once you are almost towards the end, just the tortilla showing, then you pinch in the corners to prevent any spillage.

And then….the burrito is rolled up and ready to inhale.

My platter version had the fajita veggies, salsa, beans, and guac.  Still really yummy.  You could also always mix in some lettuce for a salad, but I preferred this dish just as I ate it.

The next day, I ate the same thing for lunch, but just added a lil bit of brown rice to make it heartier.

I’m two for two with this new dinner-time plan.  Stay tuned for the next installment!

  1. […] but since I wasn’t eating either of those I scrambled the eggs first.  Then I added a cup of brown rice leftover from the night before and the […]

  2. […] I had made some pinto beans some time ago and had frozen the leftovers.  I soaked them in water to defrost while I prepared […]

  3. […] Amigos! As I’ve mentioned before, my two favorite cuisines are Mexican and Italian.  I love nothing more than a delicious […]

Leave a Reply

