laurenlikestocook

Another Soup – Hope You’ve Stocked-up on Stock!

In Beans, Bread, Quick Meal, Soup, Vegetables on January 30, 2012 at 3:27 pm

I had originally planned to make three separate dishes for this meal: a bean dish, a greens dish, and a veggie dish.  I had soaked some white beans earlier in the day and figured I’d experiment with them.  However, I came back from a really hard workout and was so exhausted that I could barely even conjure up the mental energy to try something brand-spanking new.  As a result, I opted to make a soup with the beans.  Genius.

After soaking, draining, and rinsing the white beans, I added them to a pot with enough water to cover and added some dried bay leaves.  I set the pot on a high flame until it boiled, producing A LOT of foam.  I always capitalize A LOT because my 9th Grade English teacher started her first day of class writing those words out – “A” on the far left black board and “LOT” on the far right blackboard.  Obviously, her job was well done.

After 5 minutes, I lowered the heat, covered, and let it simmer.  I had some butternut squash, so I decided to use half of one for this recipe.  Normally I’d peel and cube squash for a soup, but since I had to wait about 30ish minutes for the beans to cook, I figured I’d multitask and roast the veg.

I scooped out the seeds and placed the squash flesh side down on a cooking spray covered baking tray.  I let it roast for about 25 minutes.  It came out all caramelized and yummy looking.

Once it was cool enough to handle, I cut up the flesh into cubes and scooped out with a spoon.  (Actually, it wasn’t really cool enough, so I used an oven mitt, which in turn created more laundry).

When the beans were done and tender, they looked like this.

I had made more than needed for this soup, so I put aside all but 2 cups into individual freezer bags for another day.

I chopped up about 1/2 of a large white onion and sauteed in 2 tsp EVOO until translucent, then added a couple cloves of garlic.

Then I added the squash and beans, and stirred around for another minute.

I added a quart of vegetable stock, and then chopped up some purple kale to add to the pot.

I mixed everything up, and then added some sage, marjoram, salt, and pepper, and let the soup simmer for 5 minutes.

To accompany this dish, I made some garlic toast for Nick.  He had some leftover Italian bread from ordering in over the weekend, so I sliced the pieces in half and brushed with some EVOO and sprinkled with salt.

After toasting in the toaster over, I took a smashed clove or garlic and rubbed it on the hot bread.  It tastes just like garlic bread but without having all the nitty gritty pieces on your loaf.

At this point, the soup was thick, warm, and the kale was soft enough.

I served Nick his bowl with garlic toast.  Mmmmmmmm.

I poured myself a couple of ladles, and painfully sat down to eat.  Warning, doing squats and lunges after not doing any in 3 weeks will make it very difficult to sit and get up from your seat.

The next day, I was preparing my lunch and snacks for work.  I filled a container with this same soup, and I watched Rachael Ray for a bit.  Guess what?  You know what she made that day, nearly 15 hours after I made dinner?  A vegetable chowder that had white beans, butternut squash, onions, and kale.  I was like “oh no, she didn’t!”  But then I continued to watch, and see that she made a bechemel sauce to thicken hers up.  Okay, slightly different, but still.  I made practically the same thing with my own creative genius as Rachael Ray, who gets paid millions of dollars to be on daytime TV and look perky and cook food.  If you are reading this, and want to pay me millions to do the same, I am available.  Only I won’t say Yum-oh.

Leave a Reply

