laurenlikestocook

Lunch – MacGyver Style

In Beans, Quick Meal, Rice, Vegetables on January 30, 2012 at 4:39 pm

Being away from home really makes me appreciate my kitchen.  Not only do I know where everything is, but there is always something I can whip up in a flash.  However, sometimes I find myself away for the weekend, scrounging around in my host’s kitchen or on a hotel menu to find something other than sliced bread to eat.  Such was this case this past weekend.  My host will surely be reading this post, so I will do my best to objectively describe the situation.

The night before, I had used up all the veggies bought for me to roast as a side dish.  Eggplant, zucchini, peppers.  They were really delicious.  But not delicious enough to eat 3 times a day as my source of produce.  After making an omelet that morning using the leftovers, I had to think about what I would eat for lunch.  I knew I was about to go for a run, and I wanted to make sure when I got back I could eat something as soon as I finished stretching.  There weren’t any other fresh vegetables left that I could see, so I searched the pantry.  At first glimpse all I found was sugar cereal, white pasta, tuna, non-vegetarian soups, and so on.  Typical pantry items, but none that I could eat.  After some rearranging, I found and pulled out some brown rice, artichoke hearts, and chickpeas.  Not bad.  I also looked in the fridge and found some parsley and sundried tomatoes.  On another counter I found a fresh tomato and a shallot.  Okay, time to get started.

I wasn’t sure if there was a rice cooker, so I had to cook the rice the old fashioned way. 1 cup of rice, 2.25 cups water, and a sprinkler of salt.  Bring to a boil, lower the heat as low as possible, cover, and simmer for 45 minutes.  That is a lot of time, plus you’re supposed to let it sit another 5-10 minutes before eating.

I was going to saute the vegetables in spices and add the peas, but I thought it would make more sense to just create a chickpea salad.  I began by mincing the shallot.

Then I diced up the fresh tomato.  Juicy.

Then I minced up some parsley.  Grassy.

I opened up the can of artichoke hearts, draining them in a mesh strainer and rinsing with water to rid of the extra sodium added in the canning process.  Then I chopped them up to add with the previous ingredients to a tupperware container.

I rinsed and patted some sundried tomato with a paper towel to rid the product of excess oil and salt.  I usually would use the kind not packed in oil, but I made due with what was available.

The last can to open was the chickpeas.  I drained and rinsed them very well, and then added to the container.

As you can see, the container was pretty packed.  I wanted to dress the salad some, but it would be very difficult to accomplish like this.  As a result, I made another dish dirty by pouring the ingredients into a metal mixing bowl.

I added some onion and garlic powder, as well as some oregano, lots of pepper, and a smidge of sea salt.  I also added about 1/4 cup of white wine vinegar.

I mixed everything up and spooned the mixture back into the container.  I love all the bright, pretty colors!

When the rice was done, I let it sit while I suited up for my run.

I let everything hang out at room temp while I was gone.  I came back, stretched, and remembered to take a picture of my plate before I inhaled.

As I stood and took a bite, both my dog and the dog living there approached me for scraps, but I’m not a sucker.

I was pleasantly surprised by my MacGyver cooking skills.  It took some creativity, but I was able to make a yummy, nutritious lunch that rendered leftovers for the rest of my stay.  Hooray!

What are some recipes you’ve created, MacGyver style?

Leave a Reply

