laurenlikestocook

Super Bowl – The Perfect Vessel for Super Dip

In Beans, Party, Quick Meal, Sports, Vegetables on February 6, 2012 at 4:52 pm

Let me start off by saying: Go Giants.Go Giants.GO GIANTS!  I would also like to add that had it not been for my efforts to ensure that my dog Indy wore his Jersey every day last week, I could not be held responsible for their ultimate victory.  So you can all thank me (and my little dog, too) for winning.

I would have liked to have a very detailed report of all the amazing delicacies I created for my very own Super Bowl party.  However 1) I did not have a party, 2) I decided last minute to go with my Hubby to a friend’s party, and 3) I had woken up at 6:45 that morning for a race and was pretty exhausted the whole day.  Still, in the pursuit of being a good guest, I wanted to bring something other than beer to this party.  Although my 7-layer dip is the best option, it does not travel well, so I opted to just make a black bean dip and some guacamole.  Both simple, yet both party pleasers.

I’ll start first with the black bean dip.  I actually came across this recipe when I purchased falafel chips.  They were this new produce the healthfood store had been merchandizing a couple years ago, and they tasted like cumin spiced corn chips (only made from chickpeas).  After buying the bag, eating half the chips, and wondering what other products this company made, I checked out their website – they only make falafel chips.  Talk about a niche market.  I noticed a recipe section, browsed through and saw this recipe.  I tried it out, and it was amazingly simple and delicious.  I’ve made it both putting all ingredients in the food processor, and just the beans and tomatillos and cilantro.  The latter method was what I used for this party favor.

Out of pure laziness, I put the cilantro at the bottom of the food processor.  That way I wouldn’t have to chop it up.  Then I drained and rinsed 2 cans of black beans, and measured out 1.5 cups of salsa verde (since I couldn’t find canned tomatillos), adding them to the food processor bowl.

I turned the machine on and let it puree for about a minute.  It was delicious even at this point, but there was still more to add to make it a smidge more gourmet.  I transferred the mixture to a tupperware container.

I sliced up 3 scallions…

…drained a 4 oz can of green chilis…

…added them to the container to meet the black bean/salsa/cilantro mixture and dress with the juice of 1 lime…

…measured out the chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper…

…and then mixed everything up to combine!

It may be my flash, but the mixture was slightly darker/browner than depicted in the above photo.  Now on to the guac.  I cut two avocados in half.

Scooping out the flesh, I added them to a bowl, and mashed using a fork.

I diced up some red onion…

…tomato…

…and cilantro.

I added those all to the bowl of avocado, juiced another lime, pinched in some salt, and mixed to combine.

I transferred the guac to a take-out container, and all added the pits to prevent browning.

Paired with the blue corn and sesame chips, both dips were a huge hit.  The guac was gone before the first quarter was even over, and the only reason why the black bean dip had any leftovers was because Nick wanted to bring some home for later.  Just to emphasize how good the guac was, another party guest made some and it was barely eaten.  Hooray for being the culinary hero!  Looks like Lauren won the Super Dip Bowl.  Awesome.

  1. You do make the best guacamole!

Leave a Reply

