laurenlikestocook

Chili Relleno es Bueno; Pero Me Gusta Esto, Por Supuesto!

In Beans, Mexican, Quick Meal, Rice, Vegetables on May 23, 2012 at 4:32 pm

¡Hola, Amigos! As I’ve mentioned before, my two favorite cuisines are Mexican and Italian.  I love nothing more than a delicious combination of tacos, tostadas, fajitas, beans, guac, you name it.  However, my digestion and waistline prefer a lighter version of cantina style comidas.  This is especially true with chili relleno, aka stuffed/batter/fried peppers.  Although it tastes amazing as I chew, my tummy suffers as I clench into a ball on the couch the rest of the evening.  I mean really, what else do I expect eating globs of cheese stuffed in a spicy pepper and then fried with batter?  And eating the entire chip basket beforehand usually doesn’t help, either.

While grocery shopping for this week, I saw some bright yellowish-orange cubanel peppers calling my name…”Lauren…buy us…stuff us with delicious things…you won’t regret it.”  Believe me when I say that call of inspiration was the best decision I made at the store (aside from the pound of chocolate hazelnut coffee).   Typically poblano peppers are used for a chili relleno, but I thought these slightly milder and much smaller cousins would offer just a nice twist to my Tuesday night dinner.  I selected some “meaty” portobello for the vegetarian option, and a rotisserie chicken for the flesh version (time and e-coli saver!), along with all the other fix’ins.

 

Lauren’s Chilis Rellenos

Serves 2-3

2 portobello mushrooms OR 4 oz shredded chicken OR half and half
Olive oil Spray
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp oregano
Dash cayanne pepper
4 Cubanel peppers, sliced lengthwise and seeded
4 tbsp thin salsa (optional)
2 ounces reduced fat/sodium cheddar cheese

Black beans, rice, and guacamole to serve

 

The night before, I soaked some black beans.  That morning, I rinsed/drained and cooked them in the slow cooker to be ready for din din later on.  I made sure to add a lot of extra water so that they had that velvety frijoles consistency.

Now on to night-of prep.  I preheated the oven to 375°, and lined a baking sheet with foil and olive oil spray.  Then I got to chopping the mushroom into 1/2″ pieces.  Since I was doing half and half, I only used 1 large cap.

I added the ‘shrooms to an olive oil sprayed nonstick pan, and sauteed until nicely brown (about 7 minutes).  Then I added the minced garlic and other spices and cooked another 2 minutes.

I cut and cleaned the peppers, lining the halves up on the prepared tray.  Then I started to shred some rotisserie chicken.

I filled 5 halves with the mushroom mixture, and 3 with the chicken (Nick wanted 1 veg version of his own).  The latter variety needed some extra oomph, so I sprinkled some of the same spices as on the mushrooms, and dolloped some salsa.

I sprinkled on the shredded cheese, and baked them open-faced for 20 minutes.

Here’s a close-up.

Chicken on the left, Mushroom on the right.

While those baked away, I prepped the rice and guac side dishes.  I finely chopped some cilantro (for both) and red onion (for guac).

I had made some brown rice a few days ago, so I used the leftovers.  I added half the cilantro and a tsp of butter.

In another bowl, I tossed in the remaining cilantro, the red onion, one avocado, and one small tomato with some salt and lemon juice.

Then the chilis were done!

Those cheesy bits on the sides make yummy cheddar crisps!

Here’s another close-up.

Nick’s plate had all the components.  ¡Muy delicioso!

My vegetarian plata, sin arroz.

My attempt at creative plating. To no avail.

Everything was delish!  Nick said I knocked it out of the park and gave it between a 9.5 and 10.  Hey, I’ll take it.  And without the added tummy-ache.

  1. […] Tuesday: Chili relleno, rice, and black beans […]

  2. […] Then it was assembly time!  I warmed a tortilla over an open flame for 10 seconds on each side, then layered some slaw, fish, and sliced avocado.  I added some black beans on the side that were frozen from chili relleno leftover. […]

Leave a Reply

