laurenlikestocook

Taco Flavored Kisses

In Beans, Mexican, Quick Meal, Vegetables on June 8, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Whatta you know?  I made tacos de pescado last night.  That means fish tacos for those who don’t speak Spanish.  They are really simple to make, and the fish could even be interchanged with chicken breast or tofu for the veg heads.  May I present to you another dose of Mexican foodness.  As Eric Cartman’s Heniffer Lopez would say (or should I say palm), “I’ll give you Taco flavored kisses, honey….Taco, taco, burrito, burrito, taco, taco.”  Or, I could just give you this recipe.

Please note, those tortillas were not used, since they are too hippy dippy for Nick. He went to the store while I prepped and got whole wheat ones he liked, plus some cilantro that I forgot.

Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Slaw

Serves 3-4

Fish:
3/4-1 lb flounder or other thin white fish fillet (grouper, tilapia, sole, flounder, etc), cut into strips
1/4 cup blackening seasoning (I’ve made a recipe and keep it in an old glass jar – can’t seam to locate the link online)

Slaw:
1 small head red cabbage
1 large or 2 small carrots
1/4 tsp sea salt
2 scallions, whites and greens, thinly sliced
Juice of 2-3 limes
1 tbsp chipotle in adobo (more if you like it really spicy)
1 tbsp EVOO
2 tbsp agave nectar
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped

Corn or flour tortillas to serve
Cilantro, lime, avocado for garnish

I got working on the slaw first, since it takes time to work its magic.  After removing the top layer of cabbage, I cut it into quarters, and then cut out the core.  Then I used my handy dandy food possessor to shred that cabbage, that way no knuckle skin gets mixed in :).

Of course, my dog Indy patiently waited for scraps.  Here he is obeying the “Up” command…

…and there he is enjoying his spoils on the couch.  I tried to get closer, but he growled at me.

Okay, back to the kitchen.  I transferred the cabbage mixture to a large bowl and sprinkled on some salt.  Then I massaged the veggies for a minute to release the water.  Grabbing handfuls at a time, I squeezed out the excess liquid, and transferred the dry batches to another bowl.  This is a similar process to the Israeli style slaw I made for Falafel.  Once I got out as much liquid as I could, I placed a plate over the cabbage and weighed it down with a tea kettle.

While that was resting, I sliced up the scallions and had them sit in the fresh lime juice to break down some of the sharpness.

Then it was time to tend to the fish.  On a separate cutting board, I chopped up 2 fillets of wild flounder.

On a plate, I poured about 1/4 cup of blackening seasoning, and then mixed up the fish so every piece was coated.  In a nonstick skillet, I sprayed some EVOO spray over medium high heat and crowded the pan with all the protein.

It only took about 3-4 minutes before it was time to flip.

I went back to the slaw, adding some chipotle, olive oil, and agave to the bowl.

I mixed the dressing together and combined it with the cabbage in the bigger bowl (don’t worry, I used that tupperware to store the leftovers).

Then it was assembly time!  I warmed a tortilla over an open flame for 10 seconds on each side, then layered some slaw, fish, and sliced avocado.  I added some black beans on the side that were frozen from chili relleno leftover.

Here’s a close-up.

Purty Colors.

I had everything without the tortilla.

Nick finished his dinner off with a Margarita.  I am known as the margarita maker amongst family and friends.  They are really simple to make.

Technically, the ratio is 7 parts tequila, 4 parts triple sec, and 3 parts lime juice.  If I’m making a bunch, I try to follow those proportions, but for just 1 person, I generally do 2 parts tequila, and 1 each triple sec and lime.

Margarita for One

4 oz Herradura Silver Tequila
2 oz triple sec
Juice of 2 limes, freshly squeezed
Sea salt or kosher salt for rim

In a shaker with ice, pour in all liquid ingredients.  Using the leftover lime after being juiced, ring the rim and dip into a plate of salt.  Shake the mixture, and pour straight up into the garnished glass.

Pretty basic, huh?  You could be real fancy and sub some or all of the triple sec with agave nectar.  Or you could add more tequila.  Whatever floats your boat.

  1. […] Another thing I learned from last year was to use up what I already had before moving onto the newer items, so I paired my oatmeal and berries with an egg white omelet topped with salsa and avocado and a side of the chipotle lime slaw from last week. […]

  2. […] lettuce, snow peas, and garlic scapes from this week’s share; scallions from when I made Mexican slaw; and of course brown rice and chicken that are always on hand.  The only thing missing was some […]

Leave a Reply

