laurenlikestocook

End of Week Recap, Ruby Rhubarb Relish, and What NOT to do with an Avocado

In Breakfast, Challenge, Chinese, CSA, Fruit, Italian, Nuts, Pasta, Quick Meal, Rice, Salad, Saving Money, Seitan on June 19, 2012 at 12:47 pm

Oh, rhubarb…that reddish celery looking crop that pops up in the late spring at farmer’s markets.  I don’t know about you, but the only time I’ve ever had rhubarb was combined with strawberries in a pie, a crisp, or over vanilla ice cream.  As a result, I never knew exactly HOW it tastes on its own.  I’m all for sweets and desserts, but I’d rather waste my calories on chocolate than a vegetable.  Hence, my mission to create a savory rhubarb recipe!  Knowing that rhubarb is biologically a vegetable, and that it is also very tart, wasn’t enough information for me, so last Thursday, I braced myself to taste some raw.  The best way to describe it: celery marinated in lemon/parsley juice.  I know that sounds so weird, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought.  I decided I’d make a relish/salsa kind of deal, since I had some tomatoes and onion.  My other plan was to make a chilled avocado soup as a base to be topped with the relish.  Let’s just say don’t try THAT at home.

Ruby Rhubarb Relish

2 stalks rhubarb, leaves and ends trimmed, diced
3/4-1 bunch radishes, diced
1/4-1/2 red onion, diced
1 pint grape tomatoes, diced
Juice of 1 lime
Juice of 1/2 lemon
Salt and pepper to taste

This was a great way to use up the rest of this week’s veggies.  I diced up all the veggies, the same way I’d do for a gazpacho.

Rhubarb

Radish

Red onion. Wow, a lot of red AND R words!

Tomatoes

After combining all the ingredients, I squeezed the citrus juices, and combined with salt and pepper.

Then I took half (about 1.5 cups) and blended in my Vitamix.

I combined the juice with the rest of the solid veggies, and let them chill overnight.

I tried to remember a recipe for chilled avocado soup, but my mind went blank.  Instead of looking one up, I experimented.  I combined 1 avocado with 1/2 cup each Greek yogurt,  1% milk, and water.  I also added the juice of one lime, some salt, pepper, cumin, and coriander.

It turned more into a mouse than a soup.

I let it also chill overnight, thinking maybe the consistency would change, but to no avail.  For some reason I thought adding more water would fix it, but that made it disgusting.  Next time I will actually use a recipe.

What the mixture was good for was as a dip for crackers or tortilla chips.  I also had a dollop on my omelet.  I used some of the radish greens, the avocado mouse, and the rhubarb relish.  It was tasty.

I’d definitely recommend making this relish.  If you have cilantro, it would make an excellent addition!

I am also happy to report I used EVERYTHING in my share this week!  Here’s a recap:

Veggies

Fruit

  1. looks great!

    Come and share this delicious recipe at this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/14/whats-in-the-box-30/.

  2. I love it when bloggers tell us what didn’t work!

  3. […] I was such a good girl last week, using up everything from my first CSA distribution, I was left to brave the markets for an in between week.  At first, I was super excited because I […]

  4. Amazing! congrats on such innovative creations that are both healthy and humane 🙂

Leave a Reply

