laurenlikestocook

It’s Not Easy Being Green

In Breakfast, Challenge, CSA, Fruit, Italian, Pasta, Quick Meal, Salad, Vegetables on June 27, 2012 at 11:52 am

Even though greens are good for you, it’s also important to diversify your plate with a rainbow of colors.  Saturday was my second CSA pickup of the season, and of course there were still tons of green veggies!  I tried my best to pick colors when possible, but I still had SIX fully green items (and one mostly green with some yellow).

Here’s what I came home with.  Let’s start with all the Greens:

  • Escarole
  • Bok Choy
  • Mixed peas (snow and snap)
  • 1 small cucumber
  • 1 HUMONGOUS zucchini
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 1 bunch swiss chard (yellow, but mostly green)

As for other colors:

  • Red leafy lettuce
  • 2 small yellow squash
  • 3 pints blueberries!!!!!

Before I continue on any other topic, I have to go on a blueberry tangent.  I love blueberries.  They are by far my favorite fruit.  In oatmeal, smoothies, yogurt, or just straight up, I can’t get enough.  When I was a wee young’n, I was the blueberry connoisseur.  I would sit on a lounge chair at my grandparents pool club, individually inspecting every berry by hand, and determined whether it reached my high standards of edibility.  Needless to say, I was very happy about the 3 pints worth this week.  I froze half for smoothies, and kept the other half to eat with oatmeal and yogurt.

Back to everything else…I got home and made some breakfast while starting to clean, prep, and store this week’s bounty.  I still had a squash from the farmer’s market, so I diced that up with some red scallions for an omelet.   I also had blueberries with my oatmeal :).

While preparing the new items, I thought about what was left from my market trips.  I still had some kale left, which is great for smoothies, so that wasn’t a big deal.  However, I also had a whole bunch of cilantro and half a bunch of dill!  The dill is fine to work with, but now I had TWO bunches of cilantro.  I made sure to label both with dates, that way I use up the older batch first.  I also kept the older items in the front of the veggie drawer.

I was also very excited about this HUGE zucchini.  It was perfect for some zucchini bread, which I have yet to make because I tend to have so few pieces that I ration them off for Nick-approved dinners.  Trust me, this zucchini could make 12 loaves of bread.

Zucchini next to a marker for size comparison.

We had a wedding out of town on Saturday, so we packed the car and left shortly after finishing veggie prep.  When we came home on Sunday, I was pretty exhausted, so I made a quick dinner!  I made a salad using the red leafy lettuce, the single cucumber, a red scallion, and some dill with balsamic vinegar (I guess I forgot to take a photo).  I also made a pasta dish – Whole wheat penne with yellow squash and swiss chard.  I cheated by using jarred tomato sauce (Rao’s Marinara – amazing).  I heated the sauce up in a pan with half of the chard and both small squash from Saturday, and let them steam up covered while the pasta cooked.  Then I added the cooked pasta and a smidge pasta water.

Of course, there was parm for topping!  It was pretty fast, delish, and we already got 1/3 lettuce, 1/2 chard, and all yellow squash out of the way.  My biggest challenges this week are 1) using all the cilantro and 2) finding a use for escarole.  I know I’ve said there’s no veggie I hate, but let’s just say escarole isn’t exactly my fave.  Wish me luck!

  1. […] make some of this soup for dinner.  Luckily I still had some Pok Choy left on its last limb, and a fresh bunch of Bok Choy, so I had plenty of material to create a well balanced one-pot […]

  2. Very cute! I love blueberries too. So important for brain health!! Also, thank you for the size comparison. That zucchini is very large 🙂

  3. I love blueberries too! And am super jealous that you got 3 pints!

    Come and link up to this week’s CSA link party when you get a chance…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/27/whats-in-the-box-32/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

Leave a Reply

