laurenlikestocook

Carroll Gardens Farmer’s Market

In American, Challenge, Chinese, Flexitarian, Italian, Japanese, Meat and Pultry, Pasta, Potato, Quick Meal, Rice, Salad, Shopping, Vegetables, Vegetarian on July 3, 2012 at 1:19 pm

This past weekend was another by-week for my CSA share.  I still had a few things left (snap peas, bok choy, escarole, and a lil’ chard), but knew I’d have no time during the week to pick up more veggies once I ran out.  I spent all day Saturday shopping at the local boutiques (hooray for summer sales!) and ended with dinner and a movie.  Then came Sunday, and I made me way over to my neighborhood farmer’s market.  It’s funny how rarely I go there, even though it is only a 5 minute walk away.  After breakfast, I went with Nick at about 11:00 AM.  I love when he comes with me, because I get direct feedback from my primary consumer!  It was so hot, though, that it felt like being in a green house every time we went under one of the tents.  His feedback ended up being short and to the point.

I really need a better camera, because my flash is either super bright or non-existent.

There were so many options, it was hard to edit myself!  I bought veggies from 4 different vendors, as well as honey to help with Nick’s allergies.  I’ve heard that having a little bit really helps with outdoor allergies, so when I saw it was from Red Hook, I jumped on it!  The joke was on me, though, because Red Hook is also a town upstate, not just in Brooklyn.  Doh!

Here’s the list of veggies:

2 bunches beets (they were on sale 2/$5)
1 head green leafy lettuce ($3)
3 lbs small potatoes ($6)
4 small eggplant (About 1/5th of a lb – wish there were more, but they sold out!) ($1)
1 bunch French radishes (only $1.50)
6 green house tomatoes ($4.10)
3 zucchini
1 striped zucchini
4 small bunches broccoli ($4.80 for all the zucchini and broccoli)
1 box zucchini blossoms ($7)

About $32.50 for all of that!  Much more than I’d normally spend, but I intended using the potatoes for a BBQ, and the zucchini blossoms are a treat.  I am determined to make them without breading and/or deep frying, but we will see…

I got home and washed everything up, fit in a workout, and then headed out to a friend’s birthday brunch.  It was so hot in there!  Their AC was non-existent, and the thermostat read 95 degrees!  We were all ready to leave once the plates were cleared.  Nick and I went to visit some friends after, and they were making some zucchini for their dinner.  I decided when we got home to do the same, so I sauteed 3 zucchini with sundried tomato, the rest of the swiss chard, some garlic, and sprinkled in some truffled pecorino.

I added it to some whole wheat penne.

I had also made a salad with the lettuce from the market, some tomato, chopped olives, feta, and balsamic vinegar (no picture).  Super yummy as well!

The next day was nice and cool, so I decided to get a lot of cooking in!  I made Ina Garten’s Dill Potato salad for an upcoming BBQ.  It’s really delicious, but I only make it to bring out to other places, lest my hubby and I eat 3 whole lbs of potatoes in one sitting!

Dill Potato Salad

Adapted from Ina Garten

3 pounds small white potatoes
Kosher salt
1 cup mayonnaise (I used light)
1/4 cup buttermilk (I used 3/4 tsp vinegar with 1/4 cup-3/4 tsp of skim milk)
2 tablespoons Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons whole-grain mustard
1/2 cup chopped fresh dill
Freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup chopped celery (I used 1 full cup)
1/2 cup chopped red onion (I used 1 full cup)

I cut up the potatoes before boiling, although the recipe says to cut them after cooking.  I brought the pot to a boil, then simmered for 10 minutes.  While boiling, I combined everything else except the celery and onion for the dressing.

After 10 minutes, I drained the potatoes into a colander, then placed the colander over the hot pot and covered with a kitchen towel to steam for 20 minutes.  I also chopped up the onion and celery.

I combined the potatoes, dressing, and celery/onion.  They are currently marinating in my fridge, so I don’t have a photo yet.

Later for dinner, I made a salad with lettuce, tomato, avocado, and carrot ginger dressing.

 

I also made a stir fry.  I used Bok Choy, striped zucchini, baby eggplant, snow peas, broccoli, scallion, onion, and ginger.

I made my own sauce using low sodium soy, mirin, red chili paste, vegetable broth, and corn starch.

I made some brown rice and mirin chicken to go with it.

I wanted to make myself seitan, but mine had expired.  Boo!!!!

I still have a bunch of stuff left for the week, but I’m glad I do because all my stuff from last week is gone (except the escarole, which I may end up throwing out)!  So far I used half the broccoli, all the zucchini, eggplant and potatoes, and almost all of the tomatoes and lettuce.  Very excited with all my beets, and those zucchini blossoms will be an exciting challenge.  Hope you all have a great Independence Day!  I plan on celebrating by making anything BUT American food.

  1. yummy! Everything looks absolutely delicious 🙂

    Come and share your farmers market goodies at this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/27/whats-in-the-box-32/. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Leave a Reply

