laurenlikestocook

Where is Lauren, and What Have You DONE with Her????

In CSA, Italian, Nuts, Pasta, Quick Meal, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian on December 4, 2012 at 4:09 pm

I’ve been hearing that a lot lately.  It’s been 3 months since my last post, and some changes have been brewing since then.  This past summer, I was traveling at least every other week, and my home cooking was lacking to say the least.  Whenever I actually was home, we’d either order delivery or I’d make some standbys (like pitzas, pastas, or soups).  With two trips left in September (including a surprise anniversary trip to Paris :)), I’d promised myself I’d get back in the swing of things once October rolled around.  I know that going on vacations are supposed to be fun and enjoyable, but to be honest I was so sick of being away I’d have nervous breakdowns about not having time to even clean my bathroom.  I know, poor me (you may begin to slap me across the face).

There were so many opportunities to relax on the beach or spend time with friends and family, we just couldn’t pass them up.  Besides, we thought, now is the time in our life when we are only responsible to ourselves.  We know that soon enough we’d start to have a family and we couldn’t just dredge our suitcases across half a mile of Fire Island sand.  This is what we kept telling ourselves as we unpacked and repacked our suitcases week after week.

Our final summer trip was to LA for our niece’s first birthday party.  And you know what happens at those parties?  Everyone keeps asking “when are you going to start popping out those babies?”  I laughed it off as I kept drinking Pinot Grigio and said “obviously not tonight.”  Boy was I surprised when I got home 2 days later.  I had been feeling awfully crampy and fatigued, and even though I was expecting my monthly bill it never came.   I peed on a stick,  saw that blue plus sign, and was in utter disbelief.  Even Nick couldn’t believe it (he thought I was crazy for even suspecting).  We were both excited, but all I could think about was the copious amounts of alcohol I’d consumed in the past 4 days.  When I mentioned it to my doctor, he said not to worry and that plenty of crackwhore alcoholics have beautiful healthy babies.  Great.

And then there’s this wonderful condition called “morning sickness” that kicked in later that week.  Some of you may not know this, but I believe it’s called that because as soon as you wake up in the morning you feel sick and it lasts all day.  I had aversions to every taste and smell.  I’d think “oh, pizza looks really good” and then I’d feel worse.  So my game plan was to force feed myself healthy foods, since everything made me feel sick anyway.  My first attempt was a golden cauliflower soup w/ collard greens from the book Eat to Live.

IMG_0340

Cooking some cauliflower in fresh carrots juice with onion and garlic, I blended the soup with some cashews (for creaminess).

IMG_0345

And then I topped with collard greens.

IMG_0348

Looks delicious, right? WRONG.  Since making this soup I cannot ingest cauliflower, collards, or cashews without a gag reflex.  I thought “oh, maybe it’s just the creaminess of the recipe.  Let me try other veggie dishes.”  A few days later I made some whole wheat pasta with eggplant, broccoli, and shallots.

IMG_0352

IMG_0355

For some reason the picture editor will not let me rotate this photo.

IMG_0357

Or this one. Turn your heads 90 degrees to the right :).

That dish was slightly more palatable, but the thought of eating the leftovers made me want to hurl.  I felt so defeated, all the veggies I loved to eat were revolting.  It was ever harder to swallow after reading all those pregnancy books with dietary guidelines.  I’ve always been one to get tons of vitamins via veggies, and protein from dairy and plant based sources.  I’ve even had more than my daily allotment of fiber from beans, oats, and cruciferous plants.  However, my last few precious CSA distributions pretty much went to waste as they rotted in my fridge and I was lucky to get some vitamin C from the daily orange I’d have with breakfast.  I blamed it on my fetus’s father who only eats pork and cheese products.  Luckily they make those prenatal vitamins to fill in the gaps.

I tried my best to eat as healthfully as possible, having fruit and oatmeal w/ either eggs or milk for bkfst, but the rest of the day was wacky.  Some days I’d bring a bean burrito and some broccoli for lunch, only to end up rushing to the bagel shop or Thai takeout instead.  Other days I knew myself better and didn’t even attempt to bring food from home.  I wasn’t eating anything bad per se, but I definitely did not reach my 5 veggie a day goal.  When I’d go out for dinner,  I was fine to eat a raw kale salad, probably because somebody else prepared it.  Yet, when I tried to wash and chop kale at home I wanted to faint and vomit at the same time.  Other veggies like raw peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes, carrots, and celery seemed to jive a bit more, so I’d try to slice some up to snack on throughout the day.  That’s when I actually had the energy to do so.  Same with sneaking greens into a Green Smoothie.  Other tricks include melting cheddar on broccoli or hiding spinach in a cheese omelet.  I’ve also given in to buying a green juice from the healthfood store once or twice a week.

Meanwhile, this was all happening for the past 2ish months, and nobody knew aside from my husband, doctor, and the occasional Yoga instructor.  I’d be bailing on happy hours, or going with the excuse of antibiotics or getting over a cold.  Of course everyone suspects you’re preggers, but nobody really pushed me.  However, people don’t suspect being tired or averse to certain foods as any red flags.  I felt miserable and couldn’t even explain to my friends why.  Recently we started telling a select few friends and family, so I’ve been much more relieved.  When I would tell friends I haven’t really been cooking, they were like “what???? what is wrong with you.”  Then the explanations ensued and the mysteries revealed.

I’m just beginning the second trimester now, and they say that those horrible symptoms begin to subside.  I’m slowly feeling less tired and nauseated, so hopefully I’ll be back on track with the cooking and posts.  In the meantime, eat your veggies and drink some wine for me.

  1. Love it when a cook posts a failure. I doubt that the soup was bad just the flavors and textures with the pregnancy. That happened to me a few times with ordinary stuff.

  2. I couldn’t eat anything for the first 3 months (especially anything that I had prepared myself). I lost about 5 kilos:-( Now I am finally putting on weight. That cauliflower soup looks and sounds pretty good to me! But most things do at this point (5 months along)! ha! Congratulations on your pregnancy! It’s such good news!

Leave a Reply

