laurenlikestocook

Pseudo Sufganiyot

In Bread, Breakfast, Fruit, Holiday, Jewish, Quick Meal, Vegetarian on December 11, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Happy Chanukah everyone!  For those who don’t know, it’s a big tradition to eat foods fried in oil.  This custom serves to commemorate the miracle of 1 day’s worth of oil burning for 8 nights in the Temple.  Last year, I spun this tradition by baking a commonly fried falafel ball, although falafel isn’t really thought of as a Chanukah food.  The two most common fried foods for this holiday are potato latkas (pancakes) and sufganiyot (jelly donuts).  Both are delicious, but definitely not figure or digestion friendly.

Last week, I wasn’t in the mood for my usual oatmeal breakfast, so I decided to make some healthy french toast using sprouted grain bread, a mixture of whole egg and whites, and a schmear of pb&j.

IMG_0377

As I ate it, I thought “this kinda (barely) reminds me of jelly donuts.”  Then it occurred to me to try it again for Chanukah, only as a stuffed french toast instead.  This is by no means a dessert substitute, but it still gives you that hint of jelly donut flavor.

PB&J Stuffed French Toast

1 whole egg + 2 whites, beaten (you could cut the fat even more by using 4 whites instead)
1 capful vanilla extract (about 1/2 tsp)
Ground cinnamon to taste
Orange zest, optional
2 slices whole grain bread (I used Ezekial 4:09 Sprouted Grain)
2 tsp natural peanut butter
1 tbsp fruit preserves (I used strawberry)
Nonstick cooking spray

The first step is to prepare the egg batter.  My general rule of thumb is 1 egg (or whites equivalent) per slice of bread.  However, for this stuffed version there was a smidge left over.  To the beaten eggs add vanilla, cinnamon, and orange zest if you have it.

IMG_0389

Then you prepare the sandwich part.  If you wanted to make it more jelly donut-like, just use jelly/preserves.  I really dig the pb&j combo.  If you wanted to be even healthier, you could use fresh sliced strawberries instead.

IMG_0390

After sandwiching the two pieces together, I let the bread soak in the egg batter for at least one minute each side.  You really want to wait as long as possible so that all the egg is absorbed.

IMG_0391

Then comes the “frying” part.  Usually french toast is fried in tons of butter, but I just use non-stick spray.

You can see some of the extra egg batter.

You can see some of the extra egg batter.

I just scrambled the excess and ate it plain.

I just scrambled the excess and ate it plain.

After 3 or 4 minutes, it was time to flip.

IMG_0394

2 or 3 minutes more, and the stuffed toast was done.  I cut a little bit of the corners to make a rounded donut shape (don’t worry, I ate the corners, too).

IMG_0395

Here’s how the stuffing looks.  Not too shabby, huh?

IMG_0396

This breakfast treat is really filling, and doesn’t give you the traditional sugar headache of either donuts or syrup doused french toast.

A typical jelly donut (such as one from DD) can run you high in bad nutrition:

Calories: 290
Calories from fat: 130 (almost 45% of the calories!)
Total fat: 14 grams
Saturated fat: 7 grams
Total carbohydrates: 36 grams (~50%)
Fiber: 1 gram
Sugar: 6 grams
Protein: 3 grams (~5%)

Basically super high in fat, barely any protein.  There is some sugar, but not awful.  And that is just for a snack or non-filling breakfast.  Here’s how my recipe stacks up:

Calories: 354
Calories from fat: 90 (~25%)
Total Fat: 10 grams
Saturated fat: 2 grams
Carbohydrates: 39.5 (~45%)
Fiber: 7 grams
Sugar: 8 grams
Protein: 25 grams (~30%)

Seems pretty well balanced, don’t you think?  Healthy fat mostly from peanut butter (instead of hydrogenated oils), tons of fiber from whole grain bread, and the same amount of protein you’d find in a 4 oz piece of chicken breast.  It may be 65 calories more, but you’ll feel satiated for hours without the sugar crash of processed refined grains.

Don’t get me wrong, I love me a fried donut or latka.  But with this recipe, I don’t feel like I’m missing much, other than the fat deposits on my ass and thighs.   Freilachin Chanukah!

Leave a Reply

