laurenlikestocook

Falling in Love with Fall

In Uncategorized on September 27, 2013 at 11:55 am

Every season has its Pros and Cons.  For most of my life, Summer has been my favorite.  No school, lots of beach, juicy fruits, and Summer love.  Fall reminded me of school, cold weather, and the inappropriateness of flip flops.  However, I’ve come to realize that Fall actually has a lot going for it.   Many positive events have happened in my life during this time.  I became a sister, starting playing guitar, began running in college, ran my first 5k and 10k, met my husband, moved in together, got engaged, got married (well, 4 days shy), got pregnant, visited Europe for the 1st time, and started this blog! – all in Autumn.  Not the same one, obviously, but still a recurring theme.  So how is it that I’ve held Summer up on this seasonal pedestal for so long?

I’ve noticed that I’ve experienced the seasonal differences and changes with all my senses.  Temperature changes are the most obviously observed, but there are slight sensory signals, too.  All seasons have a bouquet of smells, but in New York, Summer smells like sweaty garbage.  A lot of women complain about how cold it gets once September rolls around, but I’d give up sandals any day to avoid the stenches of July and August.  Plus, boots are way more fun.

I had a chance to reflect upon this topic on my morning walk today.  Every step in preparation and participation of said walk evoked positive associations with this season.  I put on my leather jacket, which reminded me of Italy (where it was purchased).

Taken in Florence shortly after purchasing this jacket.  We were on the way to our Italian cooking class.

Taken in Florence shortly after purchasing this jacket. We were on the way to our Italian cooking class.

I covered baby Rocco in a warm blanket, and thought of all the events that led up to creating, growing, and nurturing him.

Our first Halloween together.  Or we can pretend it was Oktoberfest.

Our first Halloween together. Or we can pretend it was Oktoberfest.

I leashed our pup, and walked down the neighborhood streets.

From our Engagement photo shoot.

From our Engagement photo shoot.

I stopped in the local cafe to get some coffee and a bagel.  The baby was sleeping, so I was able to sit outside with a hot cup of joe and read the local paper.  Physically holding the newsprint reminded me of my days as a recent college grad riding the subway to my first “real” job, mastering the proper NYT fold.

Only in Brooklyn does a cup of coffee come with such a polite warning.

Only in Brooklyn does a cup of coffee come with such a polite warning.

The sun was shining, the air was crisp.  It just felt great being alive and enjoying life’s simple pleasures.  And then I heard a man screaming down the block, I’m assuming at the women worriedly smiling while he exclaimed “stop laughing at me,” (but that’s only a guess), and I was brought back to reality.

I walked back home and began to think of everything on my to-do list.  I thought of a line from The Great Gatsby that a friend posted the other day on Facebook: “Life starts all over again when it gets crisp in the fall.”  A true and potent statement that I’ll keep in mind this season.  Summer may be the fun season of the past years, but I look forward to renewing myself, my home, my relationships, and my culinary skills all Fall long.

Leave a Reply

