laurenlikestocook

Pure Barre-rrrrrrr

In Beans, Healthy Lifestyle, Quick Meal, Soup, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian on February 2, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Like I’ve said before, healthy eating and regular exercise are the key to a hot bod.  Over the years, my dedication to this cause has changed and evolved.  From low-carb to lunges, I’m always looking for a lil something to spice up my regime.  My newest obsession: Pure Barre.  Before I ever took a class, I was really skeptical – was everything I’ve heard just hype, or was there something to this workout craze?  A combination of Pilates, Ballet, and conditioning exercises, it’s like no other class I’ve ever taken.  I don’t know about other people, but I can attest to my experience, and it’s definitely yielded some great results.  I am in no way writing this post to advertise or sponsor Pure Barre, I just really love what it’s done for my mind and body.  From slenderized hips and thighs, to a tightened core, I physically feel like I’m in the best shape of my life.  After only a month of taking classes, I noticed serious changes.  Now 75+ classes later, everybody else can, too.  I’m no VS model, but I’m proud of my results thus far.

Before

Before

4 month in.

4 month in.

Abs!

Abs!

More Abs!

More Abs!

I regularly attend classes 4-5 times a week.  Between the Monday, Wednesday, and Friday early 5:45 am time slot (aka: momma gets up at the ass crack of dawn to work out without inconveniencing her family after already spending an exorbitant amount of money on said workout)  and a few weekend options, I manage to find an abundant amount of opportunities to get my LTB in every week.  That is, until Old Man Winter showed up to the rodeo.  Now, my schedule is dictated by the meteorology report.  Even today, class was cancelled due to snowy/icy conditions.  However, I made sure to put my work in this past weekend in anticipation, so I didn’t have to feel guilty about missing my usual Monday session.  The same preparedness can be said for stocking up my kitchen with healthy staples.  This came in handy when I saw a post on my studio’s Facebook page for a weather-worthy white bean soup.  On a frigid day like today, I was glad to have a recipe for another comforting soup.  I made a few adjustments, but it was really simple and easy, even a toddler could [help you] make it.

IMG_1051

Tuscan White Bean and Garlic Soup

Adapted from Pure Barre Oceanside

Makes 7-8 cup

1 tbl olive oil
1 large onion
2 (15 oz) cans of Cannellini or Great Northern Beans
1 head of garlic, roasted
1 tsp sage
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp oregano
4  cups vegetable broth
salt and pepper to taste

I had pre-roasted some garlic earlier in the day, knowing I wanted to use it for this soup.  The original recipe called for sautéing, but I really enjoy the flavor of roasted garlic.

IMG_1063

I did sauté the onions though, only using 1 tbsp of oil instead of the recommended 3.

Fitting in some thigh work while I sauté.  Nick tried to make me laugh, and it worked.

Fitting in some thigh work while I sauté. Nick tried to make me laugh, and it worked.

After a few minutes, I added the spices and sautéed another minute.  The original recipe called for basil instead of sage, but a) sage goes much better with white beans and b) I personally don’t like the taste of dried basil and I find it’s rather bitter.

IMG_1062

Instead of continuing to cook the soup in a pot, I opted to blend in my Vitamix for 6-7 minutes to combine with the rest of the ingredients and cook through.

IMG_1064

Before

IMG_1066

After

The soup came out really creamy.

Extreme close-up.

Extreme close-up.

Paired with some roasted broccoli, we had a yummy and nutritious meal to beat the brrrrrr.

IMG_1067

Being snowed in is no excuse to let your health slide.  With some planning, a repertoire of warm recipes and consistent workout routines, you’ll be sure feel the burn all winter long.

Leave a Reply

